Weekend in Austin

The husband and I attended the Texas State Historical Association conference in Austin, which was really just a good excuse for me to roam around the town and get the feel of the place.  I’m trying to decide if this is some place that I would like to settle into in a more permanent way.

Austin always gets my creative juices flowing and this visit was no different.  I rented a place in the Travis Heights neighborhood that belongs to an artist/photographer and her woodworking husband.  The house was unbelievable!  The back deck was like walking out into the upper branches of a forest.

chilly morning on the treehouse deck

chilly morning on the treehouse deck

The entire house was decked out with the most incredible wood carvings and hand-carved furnishings.  My favorite was the counter-top in the second bathroom.  It was art in the most unlikely of locations!

Interior of treehouse

Interior of treehouse

A house like this with amazing light and good vibes makes me feel energized.  I wanted to create things–be prolific in writing, art, textiles, whatever!

If you get a chance, you need to spend a long weekend enjoying this space.  Bring an easel, paints, or a notepad.  It’ll bring out the artist in you.

front porch of the treehouse

front porch of the treehouse

Leave a Reply

