30 Days to a Finished Manuscript

I’ve checked out via ILL Karen Wiesner’s book “From First Draft to Finished Novel in 30 Days” and have started reading it.  It promotes the use of an extensive outline to get a solid first draft written.  I don’t think I’m doing the book justice, but I do know that so far, I like the concept.  

First Draft in 30 Days

First Draft in 30 Days

I’ve started the “Day 1” materials–on character sketches–and I’m pretty excited about it.  Excited enough that I was working out dates, timelines, births, deaths, etc. during a meeting last week when I should have been thinking about student retention.  I was hoping that if someone noticed all the numbers I was jotting down, they’d think that it was related to the variables for why students drop out of college.  I’ll keep you posted as to how things are proceeding with the book.  I think the full-time job will prevent me from finishing the novel in the projected 30 days but I do think it will help me to write a better book faster!  Have you used the method?  If you have, leave a message and let us know how it’s going–

Leave a Reply

