web 2.0 for writers: what can social media do for writers?

Went to a meeting today where a web 2.o guru talked about the varying social media/networking/marketing tools out there.  I, of course, personalized everything and kept asking myself–how could I use this as a writer?  

Which leads me to question my “platform building.”  I read a book recently on building a writer’s platform and essentially that boils to finding and connecting with your readers.  Or in my case, finding and building a readership and THEN staying connected with that readership.  That’s what web 2.0 is made for–connecting folks, sharing resources, and creating conversations.  

Web 2.0 applications definitely are important for writers and will likely form the basis of marketing strategies in the years to come.  Interestingly enough, blogs are not considered social media although twitter is.  I’ve not gotten into twitter yet–good lord, there’s only so much time in the day.  

I’d love to hear others stories about using the web/social media to build platforms, make connections, and find readers (or writers for those of us who are actively looking for writers to read in addition to readers for our own work).

Leave a Reply

