What’s your dream?

I promised to tell you all about a book I found while puttering around in a used book shop in Berkeley (the shop is called Shakespeare & Co Books–maybe you know it?).

So the book is called Make Your Creative Dreams Real and it’s by someone who calls herself “Sark.”  Despite this, I bought the book–it’s bright, engaging, full of fun drawings, quotes, and squiggly text–and I loved the idea behind it–“A plan for procrastinators, perfectionists, busy people, and people who would really rather sleep all day.”  I mean, how could I resist a book with that kind of subtitle?  Come on!

I thought I’d share pieces of the book with you, much like I am with the One Year to a Writing Life series.  I read the whole thing while we were gone and it was perfect for a road trip.  I could read it in snippets and because the text size is large, it was easy to consume while in a car moving along mountain passes.

I don’t know about you but I REALLY want to make my creative dreams real.  One of the first things Sark does is go straight to the point:

  • “What’s your dream?”
  • “How much of your time is spent living your dream?”
  • “When will you begin letting yourself live your dream?”

The first question is easy–I have like a million creative dreams:  earn all my living from my writing, live on a farm, create daily, have more TIME, go to cooking school in Ireland, live in Edinburgh for six months, make paper from plants, paint on my hand-made paper, etc, etc., etc.

But the second question stopped me short.  I like to dream about these dreams but how much time do I actually spend making them real?  How much do I avoid making my dreams real by saying that I’m too busy?  That work interferes?  That I have too much to do with the children?  What if I stopped making excuses and just started DOING?  

How about you?  What’s your dream?  Are you ready to really live it?

Leave a Reply

