The White Garden

I picked up Stephanie Barton’s The White Garden:  a Novel of Virginia Woolf two days ago and couldn’t put it down.  Woolf committed suicide but three weeks passed between the time that her note was found and her body was pulled out of the Ouse River.  Barton speculates on what might have happened during that three week period, suggesting that Woolf was murdered rather than the conventionally accepted view that she killed herself.  I’m a sucker for these alternate or “what-if” historical ideas.  Maybe it comes from spending so much time thinking about the past!

bird mobileDespite the crazed wind that has been blowing here all week, I did much of my reading outdoors, enjoying the sunshine if not the pollen floating in the air.  But I have noticed an abundance of birds this year.  I think it was the wet winter and spring, which already has the bug population thriving.  A lot of bugs mean a lot of birds.  I love birds and recently made this bird mobile to hang in my office window.  Five little birds made of card stock balanced on a twig cut from one of our small trees.  It makes me smile every time I look out the window.

One thought on “The White Garden

  1. I will have to check out this book! I love reading. 🙂 It’s so fun to read outdoors. Your bird mobile is sooo adorable! So glad i found your lovely space today! Very inspiring. Have a lovely merry happy weekend and love to yoU!

Leave a Reply

