Making Cobbler

Last night, I made this peach and blueberry cobbler.  The recipe was for just peach but it called for four cups and I only had about 2 1/2 cups of peaches so I just dumped in a package of blueberries I’d bought.  The color turned a brilliant purple and stained quite a few things, adding to the fun of the desert.  of course I didn’t have the right size of pan, either, so I had quite a bit of the crust left over.

So I did what my Mom used to do for her and her Mom used to do before that–I laid the bits of crust out, brushed them with melted butter, and then sprinkled on a 1 to 3 mixture of cinnamon sugar.  Then baked for about 20 minutes.  YUM.  I think these little bites of crust and cinnamon sugar were better than the cobbler.  And I got to share them with my daughter.

One thought on “Making Cobbler

  1. Yum!! Looks delish, and I bet the peach/blueberry combination was a taste sensation. Similar to your leftovers, my MIL used to roll out the leftover pastry, spread generously with butter, brown sugar and cinnamon, and roll it into a log. Then she sliced off pinwheels to bake… little pastry cinnamon rolls which our children loved more than the pies themselves. Mmmm, the memories make me think I should bake today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

