When the Muse has Gone

I wasn’t in the mood to do anything yesterday.  I mean anything.  It took real effort for me to just go through the motions of what I HAD to do and it wasn’t until late in the evening that I finally perked up and did somethings because I wanted to do them.  Do you have days like that?  When nesting is the only thing that seems to make sense?

But the way my life is structured–with children at school, work that has to be done, and a husband who has to go teach on a set schedule–nesting isn’t an option.  These are the kinds of days when the Muse has flown the coop entirely and it is just sheer will that pushes me through.  I don’t understand why I feel this way some days and yet wake up on other days raring to go–desperate to get started on some project, task, or activity.  What is the difference?

Is it adequate sleep?  Feeling in good health?  The weather?  Something I’ve eaten?  Do you have days like this, too?

I read this post yesterday by Jen Lee and it resonated with me because there are times when I’m running a million miles a minute and then SLAM–I’ll just want to do nothing.  I need to let myself be ok with the nothing.  It’s a normal cycle in a creative life.  Some days I produce and somedays I just nest.  I need to be ok with both kinds of days.

Leave a Reply

