Writing a Book

So here’s my secret:

I’ve finished some of the preliminary rewrites for Sins of the Father and was feeling pretty good–and then did my word count and realized that I’ve only got 48,000 words.  The average mystery novel has between 55,000 and 60,000 words.  That’s what I’m shooting for.  AHHHH.

I know that there are holes in this story.  I know that there are areas that need to be more fleshed out.  I know that things don’t hang together as well as I imagine they do.  But still, how am I going to figure out where those gaps are?  Where things need MORE, where the holes are?  I understand this story too well–I’m way too close to it.  Even with setting it aside for a few weeks, I know I’m not seeing the real problems.

So how do I do this?  How do I make this book as good as I want it to be?

I’ve told you my deepest fear.  How are you doing making your dreams come true?

3 thoughts on “Writing a Book

  1. I been recently looking into doing a mystery novel for NaNoWriMo this year. I’m hoping that by then I’ll have finished the giant overhaul of my other manuscript. The best way of seeing where a story needs help is to put it away for several weeks and then read again with fresh eyes. It’s easier to identify things that need changes when you’ve put some time and space between you and the writing.

    Good Luck!

    • Thanks for the advice. I sat the manuscript aside for several weeks but still don’t feel like I’m all that objective. Now it’s time to read it with the goal in mind of finding those holes. I think my editor’s brain has been on thus far–does the sentence flow, is the grammar correct, etc. Now it’s time to just look at it as a big picture.

      How is your manuscript coming along?

      • I am currently slogging through the muddy middle of a rewrite. My first draft attempt ended up having a very different ending that didn’t in any way match the beginning, this resulted in slashing over 12,000 words of the text. The story is better for it, but what a headache!

        If all goes well I’ll finish this draft in time to jump start a new project during NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

