My Reading Life: Pat Conroy

“I have built a city from the books I’ve read. There are thousands of books that go with my everywhere I go. A good book sings a timeless music that is heard in the choir lofts and balconies and theaters that thrive with that secret city inside me. I can walk the pleasure-giving streets of that illuminated, sleepless city anytime the compulsion strikes me, day or night. Some of the streets are flyblown and unsafe, with chamber pots emptied on them by the housewives and butlers whose thankless labors allowed royals to be royal throughout the long reign of the printed word. If you follow me closely, I can guide you to the alleyways of quartz, amethyst, and sunbaked rubies.”

This was a lovely read of the impact books have had on one great writer!

Leave a Reply

