Life Expectancy: What do you expect from your life?

I’ve been prepping all my spring History classes and I ran across this statistic:  in the colonial period, the life expectancy for a man was 48 and a woman was 52.

I’ve seen this before but it really struck me this time.  That’s because I turned 42 today.  If I was living then, I might expect to live no more than 10 more years.

10 years.  What would I be doing if I had only 10 more years to live?

Seems like I spend a lot of my time not doing the things that I really want to do and not doing the things that really matter because I expect that I still have decades to live.

So if I knew that I had only 10 more years, what would I do differently?

What would you do differently?

Funny how birthdays now make me sad and reflective.  They used to thrill me.  Now I just feel dissatisfied that I’m wasting what precious time I have left.

One thought on “Life Expectancy: What do you expect from your life?

  1. I am so glad I stopped by today. Happy, Happy, Birthday!

    As for your question, I think about time and how little I may have left more than I should. There are so many things I want to say and do before I die that I worry I may run out of enough time to get it all done.

    I’m actually working on one of those dream projects right now. I hope to share it in a few days, but what I really want to know right now is what you would do differently if you only had ten years left?

    Hope this day is filled with some sweet birthday memories and a nice slice of cake.

Leave a Reply

