Green Smoothie

About 3 times a week, I make myself a green smoothie. It grosses both kids out. Though Ryan has more interest in it than Emma. He’s on a health kick at the moment–eating well and working out.

Ever tried one? Yes, it takes some getting used to. And I’ve found that baby spinach goes down a lot more smoothly than the larger, crinkly kind. Also kale proved a bit too much for me. I don’t like to drink grit. But when I get it just right, it’s yummy. And I know I’ve maxed out my veggie and fruit for the day!

Here’s how I make mine:

1. pour a little apple or orange juice in the blender–no more than 1/4 of the blender. I usually use less than that. (you could use water but I find that the fruit juice gives it a little extra something.)
2. next add a peeled kiwi, a peeled apple or pear, a handful of strawberries (fresh or frozen), and a banana (fresh or frozen.)
3. I’ve also been known to add in a mango or other berries or whatever fruit I have on hand–mix it up. Doesn’t matter.
4. Then I add in about 2 cups washed spinach. The baby kind seems to blend best and tastes mild. I wash the spinach and then without drying it, stick it in the blender. The water clinging to it adds a bit more liquid to the mix.
5. Blend.
6. While blending, I add in a touch of honey–the amount depends on my mood. And then a bit of vanilla. Just to give it some flavor (besides that of spinach).

Then I sip on it for the next hour or so. I usually down the whole blender full during the course of a morning. It stays mixed, unlike a straight fruit smoothie, so it’s good for several hours.

If you haven’t tried it yet, give it a go–

Leave a Reply

