Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter

Just finished Tom Franklin’s Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter.  The language, style, and atmosphere are reminiscent of old-time souther writers (think Faulkner, Harper Lee, etc.) while the subject matter is right in line with traditional southern literary themes.

In short, this was a great read.  A mystery with descriptions so poetic I’d stop and re-read them, letting the words wash over me.  Even though I guessed what was coming with the plot, I wanted more.  The characters are finely drawn and remind me of people I’ve known in the past.  Though this story is set in Mississippi it represents much of the small-town South of my childhood, which is both comforting and disturbing.

You’ll have to read the book to find out why!

Leave a Reply

