Case Histories

I’d seen this book around and even picked it up once but didn’t bother reading it.  Then I saw something about it again and thought I’d give it a go.  I’m so glad I did.  If you haven’t yet read Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories, then do consider it.  I’m not sure why but this book has really gotten under my skin.  I keep thinking about the characters.  I think because they are all suffering from some form of loneliness and have grown to accept that loneliness.  The acceptance is saddest part of all.  I just wanted to reach out and hug them all–and all the people like them in the world who are alone but don’t want to be alone.

Shouldn’t there be a support group out there for this?  For people who haven’t been touched by another human for years?  You’d think that families would provide that kind of support but even if you do manage to have a family, it doesn’t mean that they will be there for you when you need them.

Seems like there’s something I can do about this.  I have a few ideas and will look into it further.  I’m thinking that the move to the farm might be a good time to implement some of these ideas.  Find ways to reach out to others who may be alone, especially to those who have resolved themselves to it.

So with trying to not give too much away, do give this read a chance.  You’ll fall into the three separate stories that make up the “case histories” and be amazed how lives spent so much alone can still be wrapped around others’ lives.

Leave a Reply

