Chimamanda Adichie: The danger of a single story

I was gone all last week and am trying desperately to catch up today–you know what I mean? Work, laundry, grocery shopping, etc. All those errands and tasks usually spread throughout the week but crammed into one day: today.

Anyway, this is the first day I’ve had any real time to sit and enjoy myself on the computer. I’ve been catching up on the good stuff on the net I missed last week.

I caught this TED talk today, listening to it while grading student papers. It’s so good to listen to smart people–people who have good things to say that really make me think. I wanted to share this so you could think about this, too–this idea of a single story line.

It is so easy to fall into this kind of thinking–single story line thinking. But it’s also a dangerous way to live and one that I find way too many of us exist in continually.

Listen, think, reflect. It’s the one advantage that humans have.

Leave a Reply

