The Butcher and the Vegetarian

 

I’ve flirted with vegetarianism a few times in my life but I don’t seem to have the will power to stick with any kind of special diet more than a few days–ok, more like a few hours. I sometimes even long to be sick so I can stick with a real cleanse.  I’m a diet wimp, it’s true.  I’ve been berating myself to lose weight for the last year, with no success.  I’ve started to call this the year of the fat. Thing is, it’s already been more than a year.

So I’m amazed when I encounter people like Tara Austen Weaver who can actually forsake foods, be it meat, sugar, dairy, gluten, etc. and actually stick with it–over a long time.

I like Weaver’s blog, Tea and Cookies, loving her photographs, reviews of restaurants, and recipes.  I’d seen her book advertise but I don’t buy much in the way of these kinds of books these days.  I’d rather get them from my library so I was giddy when I discovered that my library had at last acquired a copy of The Butcher and the Vegetarian.

Unsure of what the book was about, really, the title can lead you to several possible outcomes, I dipped myself tentatively into the text.  Ends up, Weaver is just as personable in long form as she is on the blog.  Only thing missing was an exact recipe for the green juice.  If you’re out there reading, Weaver, give us a recipe.  In the meantime, I’ll search your blog.  Maybe it’s buried there in the archives.

A fun read, despite its heavy topic–whether we should eat meat or not.  If you’d like to see a personal look at this dilemma, give Weaver’s saga a go.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

