Sepp Holzer’s Permaculture

Since I’m waiting for the house to sell –yes, it’s been 5 months and we still haven’t sold– so we can move to the farm, I’m trying to fill this time by reading everything I can get my hands on about farming and raising stock.

Sepp Holzer’s book hit my alert button repeatedly so I ordered a copy from Amazon.  I think of him as the Joel Salatin of Austria and many of his ideas mimic those I’ve already read in Salatin’s books.  But that’s ok–it’s good to review these things, plus, I’ve learned a many new things from Holzer.

Some of the best, I think, are his instructions for planting and caring for fruit trees.  While our farm isn’t far from sea level and Holzer farms in altitude, much of the advice can translate.  And if you want a summary, let me just say this–Holzer recommends NOT spraying, NOT fertilizing, NOT staking, and NOT pruning.

My kinda farmer.

He even includes a recipe for an application for young trees that will keep deer away.  And we have plenty of deer.  So this concoction alone makes the price of the book worth it–it consists of bone salve, linseed oil, slaked lime, fine quartz sand, and cow dung.

An excellent read with many thoughts on creating a sustainable, permaculture-based homestead.

Leave a Reply

