New Year, Deep Intentions

Screen shot 2015-01-01 at 9.51.34 PM

New Year.  I’ve set some deep intentions.  In the wake of realizing that nothing happened in 2014–lots of talk, no action–I’m determined to see action this year.  While I started calling ’em “goals,”  I’ve now moved to intentions. Whatever.  I’ve written them down, pasted them over my desk, and I’m holding to them.  Well, gonna try real hard, anyway.

Even though I think I have flu or maybe strep, I decided I can’t let that slow me down today.  I’m bundled on the couch, working on the novel I started LAST January.  But I feel good about my progress.  I’ve got character sketches done, a lot of the preliminary research complete, and a complete outline of book.  I’m now filling in the setting sketches, making sure the setting and characters are deep, rich, and complex.

Why do I already have an outline of the entire book?  I downloaded Countour and started mapping out the book this time last year.  Now I’m kinda working in reverse, filling in the character and setting sketches.  This is a backward from how I’ve worked before but it feels good.  Things seemed to develop more naturally this way.  Worth a try, anyway.

This is  YA novel, set in the Civil War.  I plan to write one book for each year of the war.  Thought I’d write some about the process and my thinking here, just in case anyone is interested in this process as it is moving along!

The plan?  To knock this thing out by March and find an agent.

I am also going to go back and continue to work on the second book in the Elizabeth Ryan series and get that out on Amazon.  Be looking for that in the first half of this year.

Folly?  Maybe so.  But I’m determined that come December 31, I won’t be sitting here feeling like nothing was accomplished toward my larger life goals.

How about you?  What do you have planned to accomplish in 2015?

Leave a Reply

